Pleasing God and Mom

Over the years, my sister and I have had some pretty interesting jobs.  As I was recently reflecting on those positions, I remember how words often give a glimpse of who we are – and what others think about us.

While in school, my sister worked in a local cheese factory’s retail shop.  She would tell people that she “cut the cheese… and got paid for it!”

After college, for more than two years, I worked in the dispatch office of a trucking company.  Sometimes as I shared what I did, I’d say that I “told people where to go… and got paid for it!”

Now, for nearly two decades, I’ve been driving trucks for a building materials supplier.  In the spring and summer months, I haul quite a bit of lawn and garden supplies – including bagged, composted livestock waste.  So, now I’m hauling manure… and getting paid for it!

Needless to say, I think that between my sister and I, we have made our mother quite proud of our job selections!

In reality, we all have jobs and tasks – whether we get paid for them or not, that may feel tedious – not seen as being very exciting or even enjoyable.  Yet, people are always watching how we do our jobs.  Moreover, God sees how we work, and with what kind of attitude we do it.  There are days when our moods can unfortunately stink like these bags of “cow exhaust.”  There are times when work can be extremely taxing, we’re exhausted and perhaps the day is just not going well.  We have all said things that we wish were never said – and unfortunately realize that can’t be taken back.

Yet, every individual has a responsibility for the words that come out of our mouths.  Each one of us has countless opportunities each day to show the love of Christ, or the insecurities of self.  

We will not always say the right thing, but you and I can take the time to choose our words before we speak.  Let’s show people love, grace – and a glimpse of humility, with the words that come out of our mouths.  As we do our jobs, let’s work with all diligence – remembering that even as we’re serving others, our work is ultimately an expression of love and obedience to God.

Let’s try to be kind – and build people up with words that promote growth… not stink like manure.  In the process, let’s make our mothers proud… and honor God with what we say and do!

Have a great day!  😊

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”  –  Ephesians 4:29 (NIV)

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.”  –  Colossians 3:17 (NIV)

 

Leave a comment